Appalachian State University Historical Photographs

search the collection

Enter a search term or phrase.

Contact Information

For questions about the ASU Historical Photographs, please contact Pam Mitchem.

Phone: 828.262.7422


Appalachian State University Historical Timelines
Academic/Departmental Events: 1960-1969


1962-63: Graduate curriculum is revised. Graduate School awards 245 degrees.

1963: 68 undergrad courses are offered, 107 courses total at all levels.

1965: All graduate certificates must have academic major.

1965: Lucy Brock Nursery School opens.

1965: Non-teaching degree programs activated.

1965: Department of Social Studies separated into the Departments of History, Political Science, Geography and Geology, and Sociology.

1967: Multi-purpose regional university established; name changed to Appalachian State University in August.

1967: Three degree granting undergraduate colleges are created: College of Arts and Sciences, College of Fine and Applied Arts and College of Education.

1967: Pre-professional programs are offered in the General College, offering interdisciplinary programs for pre-law, pre-medical, pre-dental, and pre-engineering degrees.

1968: Pre-forestry is added to the pre-professional programs.

1968: Board of Trustees appoints three deans to the new colleges in April. Nicholas Erneston is dean of the College of Fine and Applied Arts, William C. Strickland is dean of College of Arts and Sciences, and Ben Horton is dean of the College of Education.

1968: W.L. Eury Appalachian Collection founded.

1969: ROTC and Military Science Department is established.




Project made possible by North Carolina: Preserving Cultural Heritage Online (NCECHO) through funds from the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) and the Institute of Museum and Library Sciences (IMLS).