Appalachian State University Historical Photographs

search the collection

Enter a search term or phrase.

Contact Information

For questions about the ASU Historical Photographs, please contact Pam Mitchem.

Phone: 828.262.7422


Appalachian State University Historical Timelines
Administration/Faculty/Staff: 1960 - 1969


1961: John F. Bozard becomes Dean of Academic Affairs.

1961: Lucy Brock retires as head of Department of Home Economics.

1962: B. B. Dougherty named to N.C. Education Hall of Fame.

1964: Dean of College D. J. Whitener dies.

1965: Vice-President and Comptroller David Barnard Dougherty dies.

1967: ASU administration supported formation of the Faculty Senate.

1967: NC General Assembly approves changing Appalachian State Teachers College into university, including a four-year undergraduate and graduate school program, without a specific teaching emphasis. Name is changed to Appalachian State University and William Howard Plemmons remains as president.

1967: George Dillinger is appointed director of Food Services. He was formerly Food Director for the N. C. Prison Department.

1967: A full-time physician, Dr. Lawrence Heavrin, is added to the College Infirmary staff.

1968: John Foster West begins working at Appalachian State as campus writer.

1969: Dr. Lawrence Heavrin resigns post as campus physician on January 1 to work in private practice. Dr. Henry Burton, psychiatrist, becomes head of the Health Center. A new Psychological Services branch is formed headed by clinical psychologist Dr. Roger L. Steenland.

1969: Caroline Anderson becomes first African-American full-time faculty member. She leaves in the summer of 1970.

1969: Roy Clogston named Director of Athletics.

1969: William Howard Plemmons retires; Herbert W. Wey is appointed president.




Project made possible by North Carolina: Preserving Cultural Heritage Online (NCECHO) through funds from the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) and the Institute of Museum and Library Sciences (IMLS).