Appalachian State University Historical Photographs

search the collection

Enter a search term or phrase.

Contact Information

For questions about the ASU Historical Photographs, please contact Pam Mitchem.

Phone: 828.262.7422


Appalachian State Historical Timelines
Administration/Faculty/Staff: 1970 - 1979


1970: ASU Board of Trustees approves the College of Business.

1970: Al Corum is named first dean of Learning Resources.

1971: Appalachian State University becomes part of University of North Carolina University System; Board of Governors appoint Herbert W. Wey first chancellor.

1971: James Jackson is first Dean of College of Continuing Education.

1971: Robert Snead is the First Vice-Chancellor for Development.

1971: Howard Cottrell retires from managing the College Bookstore.

1971: Appalachian State University becomes part of newly created University of North Carolina System; Herbert Wey becomes first chancellor.

1971: William Spencer resigns as head of the Department of Music. He is replaced by Wayne Shelly, former director of Applied Music at the University of Kentucky.

1972: Dr. Ralph Holt joins Student Health Services.

1972-73: Center for Continuing Education is opened in Broyhill Inn.

1973: F. Ray Derrick resigns as head of the Department of Biology. Derrick served as chairman since 1952.

1974: Richard Sorenson becomes dean of College of Business.

1974: J. Paul Combs becomes chairman of Department of Economics.

1974: Head Basketball Coach Press Maravich resigns in January 1975 after three seasons as coach. His win-lose record when the resignation was announced was 12-51. He is replaced by Bobby Cremins in February.

1975: Cratis Williams resigns as dean of the Graduate School to become acting Chancellor during Chancellor Wey’s leave of absence. Williams served as dean since 1958. Dr. Richard Rupp becomes new dean.

1976: Dr. William A. Derrick joins Health Services staff in September.

1976: Photographer and writer William A. Bake joins the Department of Educational Media in the College of Learning and Human Development faculty for a year.

1977: Kathryn Tully, professor in the College of Business, retires in January, She has taught at Appalachian State since 1955-56.

1977: Professor Joseph Logan resigns as dean of the College of Learning and Human Development to return to teaching. Logan was formerly dean of the College of Education before it became the College of Learning and Human Development.

1978: J. Braxton Harris resigns as Vice-Chancellor of Student Affairs to return to teaching.

1979: Herbert Walter Wey retires; Cratis D. Williams becomes interim Chancellor.

1979: John E. Thomas becomes chancellor.

1979: Frank Bruno becomes dean of the College of Learning and Human Development.

1979: Football head coach Jim Brakefield resigns in November.




Project made possible by North Carolina: Preserving Cultural Heritage Online (NCECHO) through funds from the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) and the Institute of Museum and Library Sciences (IMLS).