Appalachian State University Historical Photographs

search the collection

Enter a search term or phrase.

Contact Information

For questions about the ASU Historical Photographs, please contact Pam Mitchem.

Phone: 828.262.7422


Appalachian State University Historical Timelines
Administration/Faculty/Staff: 1990 - 1999

1990: William Byrd resigns as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. He is replaced by Dr. Don Sink.

1990: Gregory Blimling becomes vice chancellor for Student Development.

1991: Grant Davis resigns as dean of the College of Business.

1993: Appalachian State adds sexual orientation to their anti-discrimination policy.

1993: John Thomas retires; Francis T. Borkowski becomes chancellor.

1998: Dr. James W. Jackson dies. Jackson was at Appalachian since 1970 as as dean of educational innovation and assistant to Chancellor Herbert Wey. He was dean of the College of Continuing Education and director of summer sessions from 1972-83, and professor of higher education and coordinator of higher education graduate programs from 1983 until his retirement in June.

1998: History professor Thomas Keelin Keefe, at Appalachian since 1978, dies.

1999: Chancellor emeritus Herbert Walter Wey dies.




Project made possible by North Carolina: Preserving Cultural Heritage Online (NCECHO) through funds from the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) and the Institute of Museum and Library Sciences (IMLS).